Restoring Hyper-V Guests and Data
Creating a Restore Plan for Hyper-V in CloudBerry Online Backup
1. Launch the Restore Wizard by clicking on Restore on the navigation toolbar.
2. Once the wizard is launched; click Next on the welcome screen.
3. Select the backup storage where the Hyper-V backup to restore is located and click Next.
The software will then read which backups are available to provide the applicable options available further into the restore plan.
4. Name the restore plan.
There are two options to choose from on this screen:
Run restore once
Used if the restore is a once off process; will run once and no settings will be saved once restore is completed.
Save restore plan
Allows for the restore plan to be saved within CloudBerry Online Backup so that it can be quickly run again in future; or even run on an automatic schedule.
If using this option; you’ll be able to provide a name for the restore plan.
5. Select Restore Hyper-V Virtual Machine on the Type of Data page and click Next.
6. Select the Restore Point which is to be used by the restore plan.
There are three different options available:
Latest Restore Point
Uses the last backup that was taken to restore Hyper-V guests from.
Point in time
Allows a user to restore the Hyper-V guest machines from the last backup to be taken before the time and date specified.
Allows users to choose the specific files and version from all those available on the backup drive.
7. Select VM’s to restore by ticking the box next to the applicable VM in the file list.
8. Select where to restore the Hyper-V VM’s.
There are four different options to choose from here.
NOTE: Options on this screen may vary depending on the storage account type used.
Restore as Hyper-V machine
Use this when restoring guests back into a machine running the Hyper-V role.
Restore to Amazon Web Services
Will restore the VM data directly into AWS as either an EC2 machine, EBS volume or Amazon Machine Image
Restore to Microsoft Azure
Will restore the VM data directly into Azure as a VM or Data Disk.
Restore to Google Cloud Platform
Will restore the VM data into a Google Cloud Instance, Image or Disk.
9. Configure the location where the VM files are to be restored.
Since CloudBerry can’t create and restore a VM directly into the Hyper-V Management Console; this is why the option to restore to original location is disabled.
A user must specify a folder location to restore the files into.
Save this location as default destination for future restore.
If this is going to be the common restore repository for any future restores; users can choose to make this file path as the default of any future restore plans by ticking.
Overwrite existing files will mean that the restored files will replace any files currently in the restore folder that are named the same. If selecting this option; it’s also possible to specify to restore only new files which aren’t currently present in the folder.
11. If the backup being restored from is encrypted, tick the box to Decrypt encrypted files with the following password and enter the password in the text boxes provided.
Once the password is entered as required, or if the backup isn’t encrypted click Next.
12. Configure Backup Report Notifications.
CloudBerry Online Backup is able to send backup reports to a user defined e-mail address configured in the MBS console.
To receive notifications for this backup plan; tick I want to receive notification email when backup completes and select when to receive notifications by clicking the applicable radio button:
When backup fails
A notification will only be sent when a backup plan has encountered a warning or error.
In all cases
A notification report will be emailed each time the backup plan is run.
Add entry to Windows Event Log when plan completes
CloudBerry Online Backup can write an event into the Windows Event Log to notify when a backup completes and its result. The two options available are the same as above.
This is useful for those using RMM software to monitor and provide alerts when specific events on the system occur.
11. A Summary of all the settings configured within the wizard is now provided.
12. The Restore plan is now successfully created.
Click Finish to complete the wizard.
The Restore Plans tab will now be displayed with the newly created Restore plan showing in the list. To run the restore, click the Play button to the right of the plan listing.